Wow, 2016…Just WOW. Let’s do this, 2017!

Wow. 2016. Ups, downs, lefts, rights…it was hard to keep up! I’m betting it was the same for pretty much everyone out there.

15027368_10154085925885959_8461266288555284572_n2016 reminded me of how important it is to stay fluid and flexible. If I hadn’t been, I would have missed out on so many opportunities that came my way, but instead, I was open to them…even when it seemed impossible to make things work. I was consistently reminded that it’s important to stay true to who you are, be genuine, bring YOU to the table, give back, keep on keepin’ on. The best thing you can do for the world is be the best YOU.

I digress…Getting back to last year…here we goooooooo!

From LoopTown, to voiceover, to hosting and acting, to managing my daughter’s budding career to still making time for family and friends…it was a very full 2016!

LoopTownLOOPTOWN IS SWINGIN’. When I think of where Kelly Jean and I were just at the beginning of last year and where LoopTown has come, how it’s grown in heart, talent and partnerships, connections to killer sound studios, producers, directors, film makers, animators and more…it makes me so incredibly proud I want to burst! I can’t say too much at this point, but 2017 is going to be amaaaaaazing for all-things LoopTown, and I can NOT wait!

Amy Ulrich Debi DerryberryI’m also now the host of Women in Animation‘s live “Conversations” event. I had a phenomenal time chatting with and interviewing the incomparable Debi Derryberry in August in front of a live audience, and I’m not allowed to say who’s next (tee hee), but I’m heavy into research and contacts for the next one coming up soon!This is another where…I CAN NOT WAIT! Trust me, y’all. It’s gonna be awesooooooooome.

14650473_10153994846675959_6348057482740558177_nAs a host, I’m also now helping raise funds for KPBS! I’m one of their on-camera and radio hosts, and am thrilled to be a part of the KPBS family. I’m a PBS “nerd” to begin with, and when I was asked to help them fund raise, I didn’t hesitate to jump on board. KPBS is a public broadcasting network to be reckoned with, and I believe 100% in what they provide from their educational and informative programming to their overall mission. It’s absolutely a joy to be a KPBS host!

13240723_10153646263735959_6783867281923600873_nI also had SO much fun hosting PlayKids 20-Second Parenting Tips! As a mom to a most precocious little girl, I know first-hand how helpful really great parenting hacks can be, and these are awesome and useful. If you haven’t checked out the PlayKids app, you should. It’s a phenomenal resource for all-things-kids. My daughter loooooooves it, and as a parent who is cautious about what she is exposed to, I’m most definitely a fan.

amy-voIn the voice over world, I’m continuing to knock out ADR / voice matches for movie trailers, commercials and narration. Some of my more recent clients have been Proactive, iBotta App, Bai Drinks, Microsoft Hololens, Banda-Sil, Hunter Academy and AMGEN, among others. Voicing projects is such a passion of mine, and I feel so incredibly lucky to do what I love.

I also had an amazing time being a part of Joseph Leo Bwarie‘s hit single M-O-T-H-E-R, from the soundtrack from Garry Marshall‘s film “Mother’s Day“, and acted as lead in a film teaser. It’s a hush hush project, but let’s just say the character is one that was waaaaaay out of the norm from my typical casting. So often cast as a mother or best friend or wife, this was all about horror, terror and SO welcome! Again, let’s be genuine, right? Let’s try new things! Step out of the comfort zone a bit. We can all be a little scary from time to time, no??? When I can share more about this project, I will.

15253533_10154128437040959_4002851036759635582_n
Charlotte as “Belle” for Jakks/Disney

And lastly but not-at-all least-ly, I’ve been helping my daughter, Charlotte, get her foot in the performance door. Let’s just say she hasn’t needed a lot of help in that department…She started booking commercial, print and voice over jobs almost immediately. She’s 7 going on 17, and I can’t help but be extremely proud of her!!! The apple doesn’t fall far…truly.

I’m tremendously thankful and grateful for the opportunities and the support of my family (esp my insanely talented and loving husband!!!), friends, agents, manager…and cat, Roosevelt.15589628_10154169374345959_466063524052573286_n Gotta’ thank the cat, right? Ha!

What. A. Year. And what a year ahead…already! Here’s to 2017 being another to contend with. Love! Let’s do this!
Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

